West Tripura District headquarter is located in Agartala which is also the capital of the State of Tripura. The district is bounded by Bangladesh in the north and west, by Khowai district in the east and by Sepahijala District in the south. Total area of West Tripura District is 983.63 Population in the district as per 2011 census is 9.18 lakhs with population density of around 933 per sq. km. Literacy rate of West Tripura District is 97.43% (2016) whichis one the highest in the country. Sex ratio is 970. The population consists of mainly non-tribal population which is 78% of the District Population. Remaining Population mostly consist of Tribal Communities mainly Tripuri, Chakma etc.

West Tripura District has three Sub-Divisions namely Sadar, Mohanpur & Jirania and nine number of RD Blocks. It is having total 172 numbers of Gram Panchayats.It is the most populous district of Tripura and thereby is having largest number of Assembly Constituencies i.e. 14 (fourteen) number of Assembly Constituencies out of total 60 ACs. It is most urbanized district of State of Tripura with urban population of about 54%. It is having 4 number of Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) out of which the only Municipal Corporation in the state i.e. Agartala Municipal Corporation is under West Tripura District.West Tripura District is having all the essential infrastructure such as well developed Airport, Railway Station, urban transportation and rural transportation facilities, all the Central Government & State Government Head Offices, State Head offices of the all the Banks, Medical colleges, engineering Colleges and other educational institutions including Central University and various other amenities and institutions.

Rural part of West Tripura District is mainly dependent on agriculture and allied activities .Paddy cultivation is the main agricultural activity. Also there are nineteen numbers of Tea Estates which makes West Tripura District as largest producer of tea in the state of Tripura. There are also two number of industrial estates in which industries like steel plant, plastic, rubber based production etc exist.

Total International Border length is 77.86 KM out of which all the border has been fenced except 0.552 KM at Mantala Village which is under progress. There are total 14 number of police stations and 12 number of police outposts and 24 number of border outposts manned by BSF.